making life simple again

I’ve never really been a “Keeping up with the Joneses” kind of girl.  I guess that’s just how I was raised.

Sure I wanted the Barbie Dream House as a kid.  Or to own a pair of Gap jeans and high top Reeboks.  But, much to my dismay, my mom was smart enough to say “no”.  There were more important things to spend that money on.

Now, as a mom, my oldest (who’s only 3!) is starting to want things.  Everything he sees he just has to have.  And just like my mother, I’m trying to be smart enough to say “no”.  But it’s hard when we live in such a materialistic society.

Call me crazy, but I miss the days of not being able to be reached at any given moment of the day.  There were always kids playing at the playground.  And everyone sat at the dinner table together and ate a home cooked meal.  With no TV on in the background.  Just the sounds of a family sharing the day’s events.

OK, I know what you’re thinking.  Welcome to the 21st century, Mrs. Cleaver!  I get it.  It’s a fast paced, digital world these days.  But that doesn’t mean I have to join in the race.  And I certainly don’t have to push my children into that world.  At least not yet.

So for now my husband and I are trying to take a step back.  We (well, maybe more “me” than “we”) recently started cloth diapering.  We try to buy our produce from local farm markets so we can make homemade meals.  We compost our food scraps.  We canceled our cable and try to limit video time.

In short, we are trying to make life simple again.

Gallery | This entry was posted in making life simple. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to making life simple again

  1. Linda Wyatt says:

    Hi Melissa! welcome to the blog world. We did the cloth diaper thing, had a diaper service drop off and pick up, so there was no laundry…I had some gizmo that went over the diaper that had velcro on the sides, and you folder the diaper inside it; no pins. did the biodegradable garbage bags…haven’t done the composting though. and PS, you write really, really well 🙂

  2. tanya says:

    My sentiments exactly! Sooo difficult to do when things are so hectic, and more difficult as the kids get older, I know that I have fallen along the wayside on many things that would make life simpler. It also helps you have a husband who is on the same page! Great first post, I look forward to more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

