the day we met santa in shoprite (or was it grandpop?)

Today in  ShopRite my sons and I ran across a nice old man with a white beard and a jolly smile.  I watched my oldest’s eyes follow him as our carts passed.  Then, in typical 3 year old fashion, he asked me: “Was that Santa?”

Not wanting to confirm or deny, I simply asked him in return, “Well, what do YOU think?”  He thought for a moment and said.  “No…I think that was Grandpop!”

He’s not too far off, you know.  After all, my Dad IS Santa.  Or at least one of his helpers.

For the past few years he’s been becoming more and more into the Santa gig.  It started small with some local firehouse and preschooler parties.  Then last year he became a Mall Santa.  Which is actually a pretty cool thing.  I mean, how many people can say that their Dad is REALLY Santa?

It’s actually very magical to see that look of awe in a child’s eyes as they look at “Santa”.  Kind of like I did with my son today.  First you get  the “Hmmm…he looks familiar.”  Then the “Wait a minute…you don’t think?”  And finally, the look to Mom or Dad that says, “Is it REALLY him ?”  And with a twinkle in his eye, Santa just smiles.  Without saying a word.

That’s how Santa works.  It’s the children who believe in the man.  And it’s the man that helps us grown ups believe in the spirit of the season.  A season of beauty and hope.  A season of  goodwill.  Where anything is possible.  All you have to do is believe.

Thank you, Santa, for reminding us of that.

Gallery | This entry was posted in the magic of christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the day we met santa in shoprite (or was it grandpop?)

  1. My favorite thing of having a SantaDad is seeing him all over facebook in my friends’ pictures of a visit to Santa at the mall. priceless.

    • Melissa says:

      Jealous! I’ve been putting a bug in his ear to come out here to do “Christmas in July” pics on the beach. A nice old-fashioned red bathing suit with hat…what do you think???

Leave a Reply

