soup. it does a body good.

MinestroneGerms have invaded our home, so you know what that means.  Get the soup going!  Nothing warms a body up better than a hot, steamy bowl of fresh soup.  Tonight’s menu?  Minestrone!

Here’s the recipe I use from The Ultimate Vegetarian Cookbook by Roz Denny.  (My substitutions are in italic)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large leek (medium onion), thinly sliced
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 4 oz (1/2 c frozen cut) whole green beans, halved
  • 2 stalks celery, thinly sliced
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 6-1/4 c stock or water
  • 14 oz can chopped tomatoes (I don’t like tomato “chunks”, so I blend this in my Magic Bullet)
  • 1 Tbsp fresh basil, chopped (1/2 Tbsp dried)
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme leaves, chopped (1/2 tsp dried)
  • 1-1/2 Tbsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 14 oz can cannellini or kidney beans (I prefer the dark red kidney beans)
  • 1/3 c small pasta shapes like macaroni
  • OPTIONAL: fresh Parmesan cheese, finely grated, and fresh parsley, chopped, to garnish

DIRECTIONS

  1. Put all fresh vegetables into a large saucepan with olive oil.  Heat until sizzling then cover.  Lower the heat and sweat the vegetables for 15 min, stirring occasionally.
  2. Add the liquid, tomatoes, herbs and seasoning.  Bring to a boil, replace lid, and simmer for about 30 min.
  3. Add beans (with their “juices”) and pasta.  Simmer for another 10 min.  Check seasoning and serve.

A COUPLE OF NOTES

*I like using fresh vegetables as much as possible, but sometimes I will throw in frozen (usually green beans).

*Often times I’ll skip the pasta.  I make a pot of brown rice and put that in my bowl of  soup instead.

*If you’re looking for some extra iron, throw in a handful or two of fresh spinach.  (Frozen will work, too.)

*I love my Crock Pot.   And I love my minestrone in the Crock Pot.  Especially because it can save me a LOT of time.  And with a 3 yr old and a 1 yr old, more time is HUGE!  Just throw everything in and cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 6-8 hours.

This entry was posted in food for thought and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to soup. it does a body good.

  1. Pingback: happy valentine’s day! « making life simple again

Leave a Reply

