the dryer ate my son’s sock!

I know we’ve all been there. You pull out a load of laundry and by the time you get everything folded and paired together you have a few mismatched socks. Usually you end up finding them again in subsequent loads, but then there’s those few stragglers that just never seem to find their buddies.

I’ve had 3 or 4 of them sitting on top of my son’s dresser for quite a while. One of them has been there for a few months. Since I often ask Lennon to bring his clothes back to the laundry room, I kind of chalked the mismatched socks up to him dropping them along the way and I just haven’t found it yet. That is until the other day.

We have an LG washer/dryer combo, which I LOVE! It’s one machine with two jobs. You put the dirty laundry in and it goes through the wash cycles right into the dry cycles. Without ever having to switch any clothes over. How cool is that? It’s also highly energy efficient, so it cuts way back on our water usage. PLUS it’s ventless so it can be placed anywhere in the house. All you need is a regular outlet to plug in to.

Until now the only drawbacks I’ve found are that it takes a long time to cycle all the way through (we’re talking easily 3 hours for most loads and over 4 hours for the cloth diapers) and clothes seem to come out more wrinkly than with my old machines. Oh, and there’s no lint trap so you really have to stay on top of checking the drain for lint (I guess it pushes it through the machine somehow).

Anyway, about a week and a half ago I got a “drain error” int he middle of one of my loads. SO I had to drain all the water out (pain in my butt!) and pull out all the lint. I had to go through this like 3 or 4 times during the cycle, which is extremely unusual. And I was pulling out HUGE clumps of lint (also extremely unusual). So the other day I get another “drain error”.   Are you kidding me???? Now I have to go through this arduous task of draining the washer AGAIN.  UGH!  I unscrew the part where the lint collects and I pull out this:

Yes.  That is one of my son’s socks!   We are still kind of baffled as to how it even got from the washer basin into the drain pipe and down to the large drain opening.  But what scares me even more is that I still have 2 or 3 socks sitting on top of Ashe’s dresser without a buddy.

This entry was posted in making life simple, reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the dryer ate my son’s sock!

  1. Nichol says:

    oh my goodness that is crazy. 3 or 4 hours really? I’m telling you sock monsters are not very nice!

    • Melissa says:

      Yes! It’s VERY energy efficient, though. Drying is the longest bc they use some sort of dehumidification process. My cloth dipes are the worst bc I have to run the prewash and extra rinse. I’m so glad it’s getting warmer so I can start line drying again!

Leave a Reply

