builders, beaches, and babies: a trip to the lou

Well, we survived our road trip.  It’s hard to believe that when we left Cape May to go to St. Louis we were still wearing long pants and sweatshirts.  The other day I had to go rooting through the attic to pull out all our beach gear!

We had a lot of fun while we were out visiting my family.  And a lot of craziness.  Starting with the 6am (that’s 5am Central Time) text from my brother to call him ASAP.  Odd, especially considering I talk/ text much more to my sister than him.  Turns out his wife had a baby at 1:40 that morning.  Oh, did I mention that was the first I had heard of them being pregnant??  Yeah, apparently they had just found out about it at about 10:00 the night before.  That’s right.  She’s one of those “I didn’t know I was pregnant” ladies!    And that’s what kicked off our second day of travel!

I always loved visiting my mom’s parents growing up.  There was always a nice balance of day trips to places like Cooperstown and just exploring their little village in upstate New York.  Those are the kind of memories I hope that my kids create from their trips to see Grandmom and Grandpop.  Only in southwest Illinois.  Here are some of the highlights of our latest trip:

Since my parents watch my older niece during the week, we got to spend a lot of time with cousin Morgan.  Here’s the kids getting a little goofy on their snack break at “The Shrine” in Belleville, IL.

Lennon was in heaven meeting his “hero”, Bob the Builder at the Magic House in St. Louis, a children’s museum kind of like Philly’s Please Touch Museum.  But instead of riding Septa you explore with Lewis and Clark.  The Bob exhibit was a traveling exhibit and thanks to Sarah at the Magic House, we were able to catch it the week before it left!

Yes, we left the shores of Cape May County and traveled 1000 miles to the Midwest just to play “beach” in Grandmom’s living room.  Hey, it was one of my favorite things to do when I was younger, too.  Of course, my mom just had to remind them “Just don’t overflow the tub like your mother did!”  Thanks, Mom.

Strawberry picking at Eckert’s Farm in Belleville.  It was fun, but a little harder than I expected.  You really had to search inside the plants to find nice, ripe berries.  “Any berries you eat in the fields are FREE!”  Can you tell we got our money’s worth on that one?  (Note the red Phillie’s shirt.  Perfect color for strawberry picking!)

Exploring Grant’s Farm in St. Louis.  We told Lennon it was like the “Safari Adventure” that Diego takes.  You ride in tram cars through the Deer Park, a natural wildlife preserve.  And yeah, this bison really was that close to us!  You can’t get that at the zoo!  The weather was cooler and drizzly, but we still had fun.  Especially when the boys started puddle hopping in the courtyard while my Dad picked up his “free sample”, courtesy of Annheuser Busch!

We lucked out.  They must have been testing their water fountain one of the days we went to the Shrine to play.  So the kids had an impromptu water day.  “But we don’t have our bathing suits.”  Who cares, GO PLAY!!!  With the temp at almost 90 degrees (in Mid-May!), I’m sure it felt good.

And here’s the former baby cousin checking out the newest addition.  “The Ninja Baby”, as she has been nicknamed.  Mainly for her ability to hide undetected for nine months.  Seriously, my SIL was in labor on the maternity floor and the ultrasound techs couldn’t find any sign of the baby.  Unlike me who looked like I was hiding a watermelon under my shirt!

Gallery | This entry was posted in child's play, good friends and good times, making life simple, simple blessings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to builders, beaches, and babies: a trip to the lou

  1. Pingback: blueberries and kids – a perfect combo | making life simple again

  2. Pingback: Dear Santa: Please Send Us to the Great Wolf Lodge - Cape May County Moms

Leave a Reply

