lemon crinkle cookies

I love baking cookies.  Growing up it was always a special time I shared with my mom.  A time where that I could spend with just her – no nagging brother or sister to bother me.  I can still picture us standing together at the counter in our galley.  Measuring ingredients, sifting flour, breaking the eggs just right so none of the shells got into the batter. Oh, and don’t forget the reward for a job well done – getting to lick the bowl!  These are memories that I will always cherish.  And even though I don’t have a daughter (yet) I’m still fortunate to be able to share my own baking moments with my sons.

my mom and my niece share a baking moment

Here is a recipe for one of my favorite cookies growing up: Lemon crinkles

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 c. shortening

1 c. sugar

1 tsp salt

1 egg

2 tsp lemon extract to taste

1/4 c evaporated milk

1/4 tsp yellow food coloring (I’ll sometimes change this to red or green for the holidays)

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

2 c. sifted all purpose flour

1/4 c. sugar for rolling (I use raw sugar here)

DIRECTIONS

1. In a mixing bowl cream shortening, 1 c. sugar,and salt.

2. Add egg, lemon extract, and food coloring, combining thoroughly.

3. Gradually beat in evaporated milk.

4. Add dry ingredients and beat at low speed, scraping sides of the bowl often.

5. Chill dough for 30-60 minutes.

6. Preheat oven to 350°.  Shape dough with wet hands into 1″ balls and roll in sugar.  Place on a greased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.

7. Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until cookies are golden brown.  Remove immediately from baking sheet after baking.

This recipe will make about 6 dozen cookies.

Gallery | This entry was posted in food for thought, the magic of christmas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

